Topic: Metal canister versus ceramic storage jars

The recent thread on Ceramic jars with foil plugs got me thinking about metal canisters and ceramic storage jars.

Aesthetics aside, any opinions as to the superiority of tea storage in metal canisters or ceramic jars?  Feel that a particular tea is better suited for one or the other?

My collection currently runs about half and half.  As a collage student, I like the durability of metal canisters.  And the double seals on metal canisters, assuming everything fits well, are great.  But I find myself putting my favorite teas in ceramic jars.  It just feels better, although I can't pin down why I think that way.

Re: Metal canister versus ceramic storage jars

Good to see you here. :>

I like ceramic and earthenware jars better overall. I have a bunch of metal tins too, but I do find that sometimes they seem to impart a bit of a metal taste, especially the cheaper ones. Also, some of the cheap stainless steel ones aren't completely airtight at the seams - I notice water leaking when I rinse them. The Ten Ren metal ones seem Ok as long as you go to the store and pick out ones that are tight enough (but not too tight). The Beehouse brand ceramic ones with a silicon seal are good when you want a better seal. Some of the knock-offs are a lot cheaper, but somehow I don't like them quite as much.

The ceramic ones w/ foil plugs really seem to vary in terms of how well they seal. I have some that have a pretty loose seal, and I usually only use those for high-fire teas. On a couple, with really bad fitting lids, I took the foil off completely, and just put some butcher paper on there. I use it to store stuff that I don't want airtight at all, like pu'er that I've broken up. I have a few ginger jar style tea jars that also have no seal; I use those for the same sorts of things.